Wellington.Scoop » All Nominations for Wellington City Council Elections


The final nominations for Wellington City Council elections in October were released this afternoon. There are nine candidates running for mayor of Wellington:

Blake, Ellen (Independent)
Chung, Ray (Independent)
Dudfield, Chris (Independent – ​​Vision/Competence/Results)
Eagle, Paul (independent)
Foster, Andy (Ensemble for Wellington)
Hastie, Kelvin (future Wellington)
McDonald, Donald Newtown (Our Truth Almost Whole Truth)
McKenzie, Barbara (Independent)
Whanau, curator (independent)

Wellington City Council elections will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.

Among the last-minute nominations for council wards: former Infratil executive (and former Wellington Airport board chairman) Tim Brown, former councilor Rob Goulden and former MP Aaron Gilmore. All are in competition in the eastern district, where there are two sitting councilors seeking re-election.

Takapū/Northern General Ward – 3 vacancies:

Annamalai, Raveen (Independent – ​​Together for Wellington)
Apanowicz, John (A voice for Wellington)
Condie, Jenny (Futureproof Wellington)
McNulty, Ben (Labour)
Parkinson, Robyn (Green)
Peters, John (Independent)
Qi, Rachel (Independent)
Randle, Tony (independent – no party affiliation)
Sales, James (Real Problems for Real People)
Sullivan, James

Wharangi/Onslow-Western General Ward – 3 vacancies

Baldwin, Heather (Independent)
Bhargava, Kush (Indie)
Bothma, Ryan (Independent)
Calvert, Diane (Independent)
Chung, Ray (Independent)
Garside, Alexander (independent)
Hastie, Kelvin (future Wellington)
Mason, Bob (TOP (The Opportunity Party)
Matthews, Rebecca (Labour)
McKenzie, Barbara (Independent)
Patterson, Lachlan (green)

Pukehīnau/Lambton General Ward – 3 vacancies

Al-Rubayee, Afnan (Work)
Blake, Ellen (Independent)
Gyaw, Zan Rai (1 TaxiPooling out of rank)
Hancox, Nicholas (Independent)
Markwick, Jonathan
O’Loughlin, Jane (Independent)
Pannett, Iona (Independent)
Paul, Tamatha (Greek Party)
Tiefenbacher, Karl (Independent)
Young, Nicola Mary Jacobina (Independent)

Motukairangi/Eastern General Ward – 3 vacancies

Ah Kuoi, Ken (Independent)
Brown, Tim
Edlin, Steph
Free, Sarah (Indie)
Gilmore, Aaron (Independent)
Goulden, Rob (Independent)
Meyer, Nathan (Independent)
O’Neill, Teri (Labour)
Prema, Atul (Independent)
Scowcroft, Luana (Green)

Paekawakawa/Southern General Ward – two vacancies

Abdurahman, Nureddin (Work)
Afeaki, Inoke (Independent)
Bhana, Dipak (Independent #Together for Wellington)
Bhana, Urmila (Independent)
Coppard, Jonathan (Climate Action)
Dudfield, Chris (Independent – ​​Vision/Competence/Results)
Foon, Laurie (Green)
MacLeod, Iain Alasdair (Getting Wellington back on track)
Moala, Ate (Independent)
Muollo, Paula (independent candidate)

Te Whanganui-a-Tara Māori Ward – a vacancy

Hamlin-Paenga, Ali
Reweti, Matthew (Work)
Wi Neera, Nīkau (Green Party)

30 candidates for the Regional Council
Challenges to Mayors of Lower Hutt and Upper Hutt


About Author

Comments are closed.