Mishael Morgan is the first black winner at the Daytime Emmys


PASADENA, Calif. (AP) — Mishael Morgan of “The Young and the Restless” won as lead dramatic actress, becoming the first black actor to win in a lead category at the Daytime Emmys on Friday night.

Morgan was previously nominated in the supporting category. The 35-year-old from Trinidad and Tobago plays Amanda Sinclair on the CBS soap opera.

“I’m honored regardless of the color of my skin, regardless of my passport, to be the best at what I do,” Morgan said. “Now there are little girls all over the world and they see another step forward and they know that no matter what industry, no matter what vocation, no matter what, they can strive to be the better at what they do. Not only can they achieve this, but they will be celebrated.

John McCook won lead actor honors for his role as Eric Forrester on CBS’ “The Bold and the Beautiful.” It was the 78-year-old’s first victory in four nominations.

“I’m so happy to have this Emmy, any Emmy in fact,” he said.

“General Hospital” took home daytime drama honors, the ABC show’s 15th triumph in the category. It was the fifth trophy won by the show on Friday.

Morgan is on her second stint on “Y&R.” She first joined the soap in 2013 and stayed until 2018. She returned in 2019 as a different character.

“I am extremely proud of our generation. We’re breaking glass ceilings left, right and center, and I’m so honored to be a vessel and to be in this moment,” she said. “It’s thanks to everyone out there today proving to the world that we can and we will do this thing called equality and unity together.”

Three stars of “General Hospital” took the honors and the soap opera’s management team won for the third consecutive year.

Kelly Thiebaud was cast as a supporting actress to play Dr. Britt Westbourne and Jeff Kober scored as a supporting actor for his role as Cyrus Renault. Nicholas Chavez won as a young performer in the soap opera.

“Wow!” Chávez said. “A little over a year ago I was selling cars in a small beach town in Florida. I always had the love and support of my family, but none of us ever imagined that I would be on this stage.

A cheerful Thiebaud won her first nomination.

“I can’t believe it. I’m so shocked,” she said. “My brother, when I started playing he followed my work and he said, ‘You’re not so Well.’ So thank you for giving me something to rub on his face.

Kober is known for his numerous films and prime-time work on shows such as “Sons of Anarchy” and “The Walking Dead.”

“Wow, thank you for making me feel so welcome during the day. What a trip,” he said. “I love what we can do in life is play.”

NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” won the writing team award.

Kelly Clarkson has won her third straight trophy as an entertainment talk show host. His self-titled show also won its second straight trophy for entertainment talk show. The singer spends the summer with her children and did not go there.

Tamron Hall has won her second straight trophy as an informational talk show host.

Steve Harvey of “Family Feud” won as a game show host.

“Danger!” won game show honors.

“‘Danger!’ is a show about facts,” said executive producer Michael Davies. “Facts, with everything going on in the world, are more important than ever. ‘Peril!’ is the last place where everyone agrees on the facts.

Daytime Dean Susan Lucci, who starred on “All My Children” for the show’s 41-year run, received a standing ovation. She presented the In Memoriam segment, which included a photo of her husband, Helmet Huber, who died in March. Michael Bolton sang his hit ‘How Am I Supposed To Live Without You’.

John Aniston of “Days of Our Lives” received a lifetime achievement award for his role as Victor Kiriakis for 37 years. The 88-year-old actor was not present.

He was introduced via video by his daughter, Jennifer Aniston, who said: “His career is literally the definition of lifetime achievement.” She noted that he started acting in 1962 in prime time and also appeared in soap operas such as “Love of Life” and “Search For Tomorrow” before joining “Days” in 1985.

After two years of pre-recorded presentations due to the coronavirus pandemic, the day has begun to honor its night again with an in-person ceremony. In 2020 the show went virtual for the first time and last year the audience was limited.

Yet the specter of COVID-19 has loomed.

Two nominees from “The Young and the Restless” were forced to withdraw. Nominee lead actor Jason Thompson, who plays Billy Abbott, and nominee supporting actress Melissa Ordway, who plays Abby Newman, both said on social media that they had tested positive for COVID-19 and that they would miss the show.

Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner of ‘Entertainment Tonight’ co-hosted the 49th annual awards show held at the Pasadena Convention Center, where many nominees sat at socially distanced cocktail tables and others strutted seated next to each other.

Frazier and Turner found themselves accepting a Daytime Emmy when “ET” won for an entertainment news series.

Turner opened the show with a reference to the Supreme Court striking down women’s constitutional protections for abortions earlier Friday. She emphatically told Frazier it was “her choice” to wear her blue dress. The crowd cheered and a few women stood up.

“General Hospital” supporting actress Nancy Lee Grahn walked the indoor red carpet wearing references to the day’s news. She had a temporary tattoo reading “reproductive freedom” on her chest, the word “choice” on her disc-shaped earrings and she was carrying a black handbag with “ban on our bodies” spelled out in rhinestones.

“I dare not go through this process without talking about the devastation I have for what happened today and what a dark day it is for the women of this country,” the actor said. 66 years old. “We are not going to allow this, we are not going to tolerate it.”


About Author

Comments are closed.