Full professors appointed by professors | News @ Wesleyan



In recognition of their professional achievements, the following faculty members are appointed to staffed faculty positions, effective July 1, 2021:

Erik Grimmer-Solem, professor of history, receives the Ezra and Cecile Zilkha chair at the College of Social Studies, created in 2008.

Abigail Hornstein, associate professor of economics, receives the Woodhouse / Sysco chair in economics, created in 2002.

Edouard Moran, professor of astronomy, receives the John Monroe Van Vleck Chair in Astronomy, created in 1982.

Suzanne OConnell, Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, receives the Harold T. Stearns Chair in Earth Sciences, established in 1984.

Francis starr, professor of physics, receives the Foss Professorship of Physics, created in 1885.

Tracy Heather Strain, Associate Professor of Film Studies and Co-Director of the Wesleyan Documentary Project, receives the Corwin-Fuller Chair in Film Studies, established in 1986.

Also, in recognition of his exceptional research and teaching, Ilesanmi Adeboye, associate professor of mathematics, received the first faculty equity scholarship for 2021-2022.

Brief biographies appear below:

Ilesanmi Adeboye obtained his doctorate. from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and MS from Howard University. He taught at the University of Southern California and the University of California at Santa Barbara, and was a postdoctoral fellow at the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, before arriving at Wesleyan in 2011. The Adeboye Fellowship is at the ‘intersection of geometry, topology and analysis, with an emphasis on the study of volume in non-Euclidean geometries. He has published articles on hyperbolic geometry, complex hyperbolic geometry, and projective geometry. Ilesanmi received the 2010 Mochizuki Memorial Fund Award at UC Santa Barbara in recognition of his outstanding achievements in teaching mathematics.

Erik Grimmer-Solem was a Harper Fellow at the University of Chicago before joining the History Department in 2002. He obtained his D.Phil. from the University of Oxford, Mr Phil. from the University of Cambridge, M.Sc. from the London School of Economics and BA from Brigham Young University. Grimmer-Solem has published two books on the history of German social reform and imperialism, as well as numerous articles and reviews in leading journals. He has received numerous awards, including the Binswanger Prize and a recent scholarship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). His Holocaust scholarship was widely covered by German media and discussed by the Bundestag in 2014.

Abigail Hornstein joined the economics department after completing her doctorate. and Mr. Phil. from the Stern School of Business, New York University, and his AB from Bryn Mawr College. Its stock exchange focuses on corporate finance, multinationals, corporate strategy and governance, and legal institutions, with particular expertise in Chinese financial markets. Hornstein’s work has been published in many prestigious journals, including Journal of Empirical Finance, Journal of Comparative Economics, Economic and management strategy review, Corporate finance review, and China Economic Review.

Edward Moran came to Wesleyan in 2002 after being a Chandra Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley and IGPP Postdoctoral Fellow at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and earning his doctorate. and MA from Columbia University. Moran studies black holes in the nuclei of dwarf galaxies to better understand the evolution of galaxies and the history of black hole activity in the universe through investigations of cosmic X-ray background radiation. He has received grants from the National Science Foundation, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.

Suzanne O’Connell came to Wesleyan in 1989 after earning her doctorate. from Columbia University, his M.Sc. from the State University of New York at Albany, and his AB from Oberlin College. O’Connell studies marine sediment cores recovered by scientific ocean drilling (DSDP, ODP, IODP) to understand past climate change, which helps to understand and model future climate changes. She is the 2001 recipient of the Association for Women Geoscientists Outstanding Educator Award and a Fellow of the Geological Society of America (GSA). Currently, OConnell sits on the United States Science Advisory Program Committee for the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and the GSA Board of Directors.

Francis Starr joined the Department of Physics in 2003 after serving as Deputy Director of the Center for Theoretical and Computational Materials Science at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). His research focuses on the emerging complexity of soft matter physics and biophysics. Starr is the author or co-author of over 120 peer-reviewed publications and is a member of the American Physical Society. He is the former director of the College of Integrative Sciences and currently leads the Integrated Design, Engineering, & Applied Science (IDEAS) program.

Tracy Heather Strain received her Ed.M. from Harvard University and her AB from Wellesley College, and is currently a Masters of Fine Arts candidate at Vermont College for the Arts. Strain is an award-winning documentary filmmaker, producer and writer whose work tells stories with the goal of advancing social justice, building community and empowering the marginalized. His films have received two Peabody Awards and have been supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, the Ford Foundation, the Independent Television Service, and the LEF Foundation, among other funding bodies. . His most recent work is american ounce, which premiered on April 19, 2021.



About Author

Leave A Reply